Skip to content

Reflection on my assignment

April 26, 2010

I think Krystal did a great job completing my assignment. She completed it fully and followed the directions, and met the criteria on my rubric. In reflecting on this assignment I think I would change the focus of writing about a “hurt” to being “let down by someone”. I think that this change would help students write more freely and make it whatever degree of personal they choose. I also think it will help maintain a school appropriate level in what students divulge. I think changing the assignment to include the option of writing about a time they let someone else down. This is not at all because of anything Krystal wrote, I actually decided to make these changes after class on Tuesday. Krystal offered nice feedback on the assignment:

Sarah- I really liked this assignment.  I thought you did a wonderful job explaining what you wanted your students to gain from reading as a reader and reading as a writer.  The assignment was a lot of fun and I appreciated that you gave options.  I think this assignment will help the students think deeper about the story and give them a chance to improve their writing as well.  I did this assignment by just writing what I felt at the time.  I just tried to get everything out on paper.  I definitely would need to continue the writing process you laid out and edit my work to improve the writing piece.  Great assignment!

I’m glad Krystal liked this assignmenta and I hope my students will also. I will keep options available and allow the students to write about what they choose, within guidelines of the assignment and it’s goals. I feel the instructions were adequate in keeping students within a certain focus of the assignment and also continue to process of revision and refinement. This assignment served it’s initial purpose which was to get something on paper, so there is a place to start the writing process. As readers, I believe the assignment worked well in correlating the story to student lives and encourage students to refelct on their past and focus on how they want to respond to situations in the future.

No comments yet

Leave a comment